Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tachihara Cameras

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Tachihara Cameras

Im looking to start shooting 10x8 and am searching for a suitable camera. I have been shooting 5x4 for many years, on a Shen Hao, which is a spectacular camera. I prefer field cameras so would be looking for something along the same lines, I am currently thinking about buying a tachihara as they look like quite good value. Does anybody have any experience with them? Or could they recommend a similar styled camera? Deardorff and Ebony are also very nice but quite a bit more expensive, I dont have any 10x8 gear so dont want to spend too much on the camera itself.

Re: Tachihara Cameras

It's tough to remember back 30 years, but I owned a Tachihara 5x4" in the early 90's and it was very good. I don't remember any obvious shortcomings, but I sold it because I concluded that 6x9cm with a Horseman VH was a bit quicker to use, and more cost effective.

I've used a Tachihara 4x5 for over 40 years and it has been a great camera! I'm sure an 8x10 version would serve the purpose, but I'd be a bit concerned about how solid it would or not be under more adverse outdoor conditions. I toss the 8x10 Wista into this same category, too. Great camera, but... IMO, what you generally tradeoff with 8x10 is weight vs sturdiness and portability. Cameras like a Deardorff, Wisner, Ebony, Kodak Master View, etc, will hold their own in just about any outdoor situation, but they ain't lightweights. So, you need to decide how much you're willing to invest in both monetary terms and effort.

Good luck and let us know what you settle on.

An 8x10 Tachihara is plenty rigid/robust enough if it's in good condition. But...

Quote Originally Posted by Stanley Kubrick View Post
    I dont have any 10x8 gear so dont want to spend too much on the camera itself.
    ...what is your budget? 8x10 Tachiharas in good condition are not cheap these days.