PDA

View Full Version : Ilex No. 4 Acme Synchro Shutter - Troubleshooting

Kimberly A
9-Mar-2022, 06:53
Hello friends,

It's been years since I've posted, and now I come back to this fount of knowledge looking for a bit of help.

I have recently 'inherited' a Calumet C1, and have completely stripped and restored it to fully functional condition with the intent of starting wet-plates soon. Along with the C1, was a lens mounted on an Ilex No. 4 Acme shutter. I've stripped it down, cleaned it out, gotten it working well...EXCEPT FOR the B and T settings. I have 30+ years of experience with all kinds of shutters, both contemporary and historic, and this one has me befuddled.

The B and T settings are behaving more like a 1/100 speed and neither operate properly via the shutter lever. I have looked up and down for a manual for the shutter and can only find ones for the No. 3.

If anyone has any suggestions/tips/videos etc., I would *love* to figure out these two settings.

Thanking you all in advance for help both past, present, and future.

Tin Can
9-Mar-2022, 07:17
Welcome!

Perhaps you don't need the shutter to work, just get it open and use a lens cap

Kimberly A
9-Mar-2022, 07:37
Hello Tin Can,

Thank you for your response.

I absolutely *do* need the shutter to work. I am very familiar with the 'Top Hat' method and would choose not to use that if possible.

I have called Frank Marshall this morning and emailed him several images of the shutter. It appears the shutter I have and his knowledge of them (which is vast), indicates I may be actually *missing* the B and T lever.

I wait with bated breath for his assessment. I will follow up with this thread what I discover.

Thanks again. :)

Bernice Loui
9-Mar-2022, 11:21
Missing the B and T lever ?

Typical ACME shutter has B & T on the shutter speed dial. Does this ACME# 4 have the shutter open button on top?

Possible to post a picture of this shutter?